BB-8 is an Angel and I Loved TFA

Immediately following the wonderful event of New Year’s Eve and staying overnight at my friend’s house, all participants of the party awoke to the great knowledge that I was forcing a Star Wars marathon upon my boyfriend who had never seen all the movies before. It was a great recovery day.

So the age old question of which order to do comes, and our answer was flashback order. For those unfamiliar, this order is:

  • Episode IV
  • Episode V
  • Episode I
  • Episode II
  • Episode II
  • Episode VI

I have become a huge proponent of this order after this experience. To me, it seems like the ultimate way to experience these six movies. Episode IV enters the world beautifully, guiding you through the universe without exposition but also without creating any confusion, and a great love for the characters of the original trilogy comes about between IV and V. This kind of involvement simply does not come about by starting with the prequel trilogy, especially I, and I think enough people have discussed everything terrible about Episode I, so I’m not going to put myself through that.

By the end of Episode V, the discovery of Vader and Luke’s connections creates the desire to learn more about Anakin, and following this move with the prequel trilogy grants this information. Anakin’s past makes Episode VI hit harder than it could without it. Being that I quite like Anakin despite the fact that he’s kind of horrible, this especially enhanced the movie experience for me. It was the first time I had seen Episode VI following Episode III in any remotely small period of time. The parallel’s between Luke and Anakin are highlighted, and Luke’s new levels of maturity are less jarring than I find them simply going from V to VI. And since I’m Anakin-loving trash, Anakin’s force ghost in the remastered version actually made me cry this time around. The action of Episode VI becomes not just rooting for Luke, Leia, Han, and the rest of the Rebellion to win, but also understanding as Vader and Sidias’s lives come to an end, exactly all they had done, and ALL that was brought to an end with their deaths.

After this wonderful marathon, I was ready to see TFA, and I’ll spare you ever single feeling I have about the entire movie and instead opt for a few points. First point, Kylo Ren has literally no idea who is grandfather was an Anakin’s force ghost needs to slap some sense into the boy.

I have an OT3 and it is Rey, Poe, and Finn, and they are perfect and in love and no one will change my mind. BB-8 is C-3PO and R2-D2’s perfect child, and nothing will change my mind.

The only other thing I strongly want to comment on is the “Rey is Obi Wan’s Granddaughter Theory”.  If you are interested in the evidence supporting the theory, it is gone over here. I think the theory is just as possible as it is that the theory won’t be correct. However, I can share some thoughts on what will happen if the theory is true. A battle of Anakin’s grandchild and Obi Wan’s would be awesome and emotional and completely beautiful. A lot of great story-telling can come out of it, however, there will be some effects that won’t be as great in my opinion. My biggest issue with the theory is that, if she is Obi Wan’s granddaughter, that’s another illicit Jedi love affair, and with Obi Wan being such a great example of what Jedi’s should do I feel this might weaken the character he has. The story of this relationship will likely feel somewhat tired because we already of Anakin and Padme. I worry about the affect this will have on Obi Wan’s character and story in the movies, and while it certainly could be done well, it could also be totally screwed up, and I’m afraid of that.

Personally, I’m currently thinking Rey is Han’s daughter (but not Leia’s), and I think a battle of the half-siblings will be an interesting look at what Leia and Luke might have gone through had one of them ended up on the Dark Side.

So, from now on, this is my order: “Machete order” plus Episode VII:

  • Episode IV
  • Episode V
  • Episode II
  • Episode III
  • Episode VI
  • Episode VII

Episode I has been rightfully destroyed, and Episode VII has earned it’s place.

Leave a Reply

